Cranley joins North Beach elite

Kyle Cranley joined the ranks of North Beach’s finest, winning the Brian Kiely Medal last Saturday night.

Kyle Cranley, one of the outstanding players of the current era at North Beach Football Club, took away the major prize from the Club Champion Awards last Saturday night.

The athletic big man joined the ranks of the club’s finest when he won the Brian Kiely Medal as the fairest and best player in the O’Rourke Realty A-Grade team.

Runner-up to  Dan Leishman last season – and runner-up to midfielder Joey Deegan in the   BJ Jamieson Medal for the fairest and best player in the Perth Football League A-Grade competition this year – Cranley finally gabbed the lion’s share of the spotlight.

He was a decisive winner, despite missing a game through injury, from Sam Lamont, who won the prestigious award in 2018. Cranley polled 75 votes with Lamont next best on 50 votes.

To emphasise the outstanding season that Cranley enjoyed, he also won the valued player-of-the-finals gong.

While capacity at club headquarters was reduced by CODID-19 restrictions, there was still a strong representation across all grades and a healthy sprinkling of revered life members, sponsors and dignitaries in the room.

Perhaps the most raucous reception of the night erupted when Novak Smith was announced as a life member. A selfless contributor to the club who has coached and played in the lower grades for many years, he also assisted by providing support to the club’s female teams in 2020.

Poignantly, he was presented with his life membership medallion by another stalwart of the lower grades – and current coach of the Integrated Rules team –his close mate Peter Panagopoulos.

The best clubman award was presented to Ben De Rosa – another popular decision. De Rosa, the club’s treasurer, works feverishly off-field, helped to set up some virtual ‘Thursday Night Live’ shows to keep members connected when the club was in lock-down and produced some elite financial forecasts that enabled the club to plan with some certainty at an unsure time around the fiscal risks of 2020.

The Lifenet A-Reserves and the Indian Ocean Hotel Brett Jones Colts were also feted as the club’s 2020 premiership teams, while Toby Anscombe, forced into retirement from the Grange Residential Integrated Rules, was presented with a framed guernsey.

Below is a list of all award winners across the grades:

O’Rourke Realty A Grade

Grade Award Winner
A Grade Brian Kiely Medal Fairest and Best Kyle Cranley – 75 Votes
A Grade Runner Up Fairest and Best Sam Lamont – 50 Votes
A Grade Player of the Finals Kyle Cranley – 20 Votes
A Grade Leading Goal Kicker Ryan Ekert – 16 Goals
A Grade Player Choice Luke Symonds

Lifenet A Reserves

Grade Award Winner
A Reserve Fairest and Best Ben Sweeny – 86 Votes
A Reserve Runner Up Fairest and Best Nic Bowe – 63 Votes
A Reserve Player of the Finals Ben Sweeny – 29 Votes
A Reserve Leading Goal Kicker Ben Johnson – 21 Goals
A Reserve Rising Star Conor Boylan

Project Ceilings A grade Women

Grade Award Winner
A Grade Women Fairest and Best Emily Sainty – 54 Votes
A Grade Women Runner Up Fairest and Best Tessa Anderson – 46 Votes
A Grade Women Players Player Award Anna Laycock
A Grade Women Coaches Award Ashley Pianto
A Grade Women Outstanding Leadership Award Stephanie Ball

Plasterwise Phil Scott Colts

Grade Award Winner
Phil Scott Colts Fairest and Best Lachlan Scurria – 56 votes
Phil Scott Colts Runner Up Fairest and Best Jackson Martino – 54 Votes
Phil Scott Colts Leading Goal Kicker Caiden Eaton – 22 Goals
Phil Scott Colts Outstanding Leadership Alex Thompson
Phil Scott Colts Best Positional Player Craig Bothe

Hybrid Linings C5 Grade

Grade Award Winner
C5 Grade Fairest and Best Craig Hall – 52 Votes
C5 Grade Runner Up Fairest and Best Aran O’Connell – 32 Votes
C5 Grade Runner Up Fairest and Best Nicholas Marsh – 32 Votes
C5 Grade Player of the Finals Craig Hall – 14 Votes
C5 Grade Leading Goal Kicker Sam Zehnder – 15 Goals
C5 Grade Most Consistent Ryan Clapham

Coast to Coast Imports C5 Reserve

Grade Award Winner
C5 Reserve Fairest and Best Jack Steel – 71 Votes
C5 Reserve Runner Up Fairest and Best Brennen Irvine – 60 Votes
C5 Reserve Player of the Finals Corey Jennis – 18 Votes
C5 Reserve Player of the Finals Ryan O’Donoghue – 18 Votes
C5 Reserve Leading Goal Kicker Nathan Adler – 35 Goals
C5 Reserve Rising Star James Sullivan

Beyond Tools C4 Grade

Grade Award Winner
C4 Grade Fairest and Best Mitch Tobin – 40 Votes
C4 Grade Runner Up Fairest and Best Ben Evans – 39 Votes
C4 Grade Most Determined Levi Cooper
C4 Grade Most Consistent Xavier Williamson
C4 Grade Best Utility Owen Orr-Young

CJ Osplumb C4 Reserve

Grade Award Winner
C4 Reserve Fairest and Best Jacob Willis – 66 Votes
C4 Reserve Runner Up Fairest and Best Michael Humphry – 52 Votes
C4 Reserve Best Teammate Tim Elphick
C4 Reserve Most Consistent Josh Veroni
C4 Reserve Rising Star Chris Gamble

Peak Body Fitness C3 Women

Grade Award Winner
C3 Women Fairest and Best Ameila Davies – 44 Votes
C3 Women Runner Up Fairest and Best Taylah McGorlick – 33 Votes
C3 Women Best Defensive Player Chelsea Cowling
C3 Women Rising Star Kaitlin Koh
C3 Women Players Player Award Michelle Vuaillat

Indian Ocean Hotel Brett Jones Colts

Grade Award Winner
Brett Jones Colts Fairest and Best Connor Pollard – 47 Votes
Brett Jones Colts Runner Up Fairest and Best Benjamin Hodge – 34 Votes
Brett Jones Colts Player of the Finals Jacob Irwin – 14 Votes
Brett Jones Colts Leading Goal Kicker George Mortimer – 15 Goals
Brett Jones Colts Coaches Award Peter Jolley

Life membership: Novak Smith

Clubman of Year: Ben De Rosa