Jarvis wins, Bill stays

Aaron Jarvis...consecutive fairest and best awards
Aaron Jarvis...consecutive fairest and best awards

By Gary Stocks

Tenacious defender Aaron Jarvis won his second successive A-Grade best and fairest award when North Beach held its annual presentation dinner recently.

On a night when Bill Duckworth announced that he would extend his remarkable association with the club for a 15th season as senior coach, Jarvis was a tear-away winner, ahead of the highly respected Beau Witheridge, whose campaign at either end of the season was curtailed by injury.

Duckworth has had an amazing run of success, including leading the club to seven premierships in succession, before this year’s campaign ended with a preliminary final loss to University. He is keen to avenge that early exit and there is sure to be a strong resolve across the club to have a more concerted effort in many areas of operations in 2012.    

Jamie Sajich was adjudged best in finals, while Ben Wilson was rewarded for a consistent effort across the season by winning the coaches award and Cale Potts was awarded the leading goalscorer prize.

It was another outstanding night in the Subiaco Function Hall, with one of the highlights being the award to veteran Chris “The King” Perkin, who won the A-Reserves best and fairest mantle.

Off a limited training base, the highly decorated Perkin produced some outstanding form in the A-Reserves under Michael Pratt, who will also coach again in 2012.

Behind Perkin, the awards were shared by a string of emerging young players, which is a great sign for the club – Matt Irvine (runner-up), Ben Clark, Alex Billi and Rob McComiskie, all among the awards and all players who have graduated from the colts in the past two years.

Jake Robinson was also recognised for a terrific and sustained effort by being nominated as the most consistent.

Colts captain Kris Hackett, who graduates to senior football next year, franked an outstanding year by winning the Phil Scott Colts fairest and best award, while Alex Barden, Ryan Antonelli and Shane Fullwood will be looking for opportunities in higher grades in 2012.

All the award winners as follows:

Best and Fairest Aaron Jarvis
Runner-up Beau Witheridge
Best in finals Jamie Sajich
Coaches Award Ben Wilson
Leading Goalscorer Cale Potts (33 goals)
Best and Fairest Chris Perkin
Runner-up Matt Irvine
Best in finals Ben Clark, Alex Billi
Most Determined Rob McComiskie
Most Consistent Jake Robinson
Coaches Award Ben Clark
Phil Scott colts  
Best and Fairest Kris Hackett
Runner-up Alex Barden
Most Consistent Ryan Antonelli
Most Reliable Shane Fullwood
Best first year player Glenn Pullella
Brett Jones colts  
Best and Fairest Riley Carter
Runner-up David Dillon
Best Team Man   Chad Perris
Most Improved Jake Gomer
Best Utility James Foley
Best and Fairest Michael Collins
Runner-up Luke Rhatigan
Most Improved Scott Brown
Most Consistent Dan Wheeler
Best Position Player Liam Vardy
Best and Fairest Chris McComiskie
Runner-up Dave Hocking
Most Improved Michael Missikos
Most Consistent Tony Mirabile
Best Team Man Ian Tester
Leading Goal Scorer Hayden French
Best and Fairest Jordan Kickett
Runner-up Lloyd Miller
Best Position Player Tim Elliott
Most Improved Treva Girvan
Most Consistent Rob Morrow